Georgia Lost Title Bond: A Comprehensive Guide
This guide provides information for insurance agents to help their customers obtain a Georgia Lost Title Bond
At a Glance:
- Lowest Cost: $100 per year
- Bond Amount: Twice the vehicle’s average retail value. Must be at least $5,000 dollars.
- Who Needs it: Vehicle title applicants in Georgia who do not have adequate proof of ownership
- Purpose: To ensure the rightful vehicle owner does not suffer financial harm if the title applicant does not actually own the vehicle
- Who Regulates Lost Title Bonds In Georgia: The Georgia Department of Revenue
Georgia statute 40-3-28 requires residents who do not have adequate proof that they own their vehicle to purchase a surety bond prior to obtaining their duplicate title. The Georgia legislature enacted the bonding requirement to ensure that the rightful vehicle owner will receive compensation if the title applicant does not actually own the vehicle. The bond amount must be equal to twice the vehicle’s average retail value but cannot be less than $5,000.
What is the Purpose of the Georgia Lost Title Bond?
Georgia requires residents to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a bonded title. The bond ensures that the rightful vehicle owner will not suffer a financial loss if the title applicant is seeking to obtain the title fraudulently. If the title applicant is engaging in fraud, then the rightful vehicle owner can file a claim against the bond and receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond. In short, the bond acts as a safeguard against people attempting to obtain ownership of a vehicle through unethical means.
How Can an Insurance Agent Obtain a Georgia Lost Title Bond?
BondExchange makes obtaining a Georgia Lost Title Bond easy. Simply log in to your account and use our keyword search to find the “title” bond in our database. Don’t have a login? Gain access now and let us help you satisfy your customers’ needs. Our friendly underwriting staff is available by phone at (800) 438-1162, email, or chat from 7:30 AM to 7:00 PM EST to assist you.
At BondExchange, our 40 years of experience, leading technology, and access to markets ensures that we have the knowledge and resources to provide your clients with fast and friendly service whether obtaining quotes or issuing bonds.
Not an agent? Then let us pair you with one!
Click the above image to find a BX Agent near you
How is the Bond Amount Determined?
Georgia statute 40-3-28 dictates that the bond amount must be equal to twice the vehicle’s average retail value, but may not be less than $5,000. The Department of Revenue will determine the required bond amount during the title application process.
Is a Credit Check Required for the Georgia Lost Title Bond?
Surety companies will not conduct a credit check for bonds that are less than $25,000. At limits over $25,000, surety companies will review the applicant’s credit standing to determine qualification for the bond. For larger bond amounts, applicants with poor credit may be subject to a higher rate. Generally, most carriers want to understand how the applicant came to have ownership of the vehicle.
How Much Does the Georgia Lost Title Bond Cost?
The Georgia Lost Title Bond costs either $100 or 1.5% of the bond amount, whichever is greater (rates may vary for bonds greater than $25,000).
Who is Required to Purchase a Bond?
The Georgia Department of Revenue will require a title applicant to purchase a surety bond if the applicant cannot present the department with adequate proof that the applicant does in fact own the vehicle. Typically, lost title bonds are required for the following reasons:
- The vehicle has never been titled
- The applicant never received the title
- The previous owner never titled the vehicle
- The applicant has the title but there is an error in the title transfer
- The applicant purchased an unclaimed/abandoned vehicle and is not a bonded agent
A Georgia Lost Title Bond will not be issued unless all of the following conditions are met:
- The vehicle’s owner must be a legal resident of Georgia
- The vehicle must require a Georgia title
- Cannot be a 1985 or older year model vehicle
- Cannot be an abandoned vehicle
How do Georgia Residents Apply for a Bonded Title?
To apply for a bonded title, Georgia residents must complete the following steps:
Step 1 – Consult the Local County Tag Office
Bonded title applicants in Georgia should consult with their local county tag office prior to purchasing a surety bond. Georgia does not require all title applicants to obtain a bonded title, and title applicants should ensure that they actually need a bond before purchasing one.
Step 2 – Purchase a Surety Bond
Once they get confirmation from their local tag office, bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to twice the vehicle’s average retail value, but not less than $5,000.
Step 3 – Complete the Application
All Georgia bonded title applications can be submitted to the applicant’s local county tag office. Title applicants must complete the application in its entirety, and submit the following items:
- Bond affidavit
- Certification of inspection
- Report from the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System
- If there is a security interest or lien on the vehicle, the applicant must submit a notice of release form
Bonded title applicants must pay an $18 fee when submitting their application.
How Do Georgia Bonded Title Applicants File Their Bond?
In Georgia, bonded title applicants should submit the completed bond form, including the power of attorney, to their local county tag office. The Georgia Lost Title Surety Bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the bonded title applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
- The legal name and address of entity/individual(s) buying the bond
- Surety company’s name and state of incorporation
- Bond amount
- Vehicle information
- Date the bond is signed
- Witness signatures for the principal and surety company
What Are the Insurance Requirements for Bonded Title Applicants in Georgia?
Georgia requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance with the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
Bonded title applicants must purchase and maintain a surety bond in an amount equal to twice the vehicle’s average retail value, but not less than $5,000.
How Can Georgia Residents Avoid Claims Against Their Lost Title Bond?
To avoid claims against their bond, bonded title applicants in Georgia must ensure that they are the rightful owners of the motor vehicle.
What Other Insurance Products Can Agents Offer Bonded Title Applicants in Georgia?
Georgia requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase auto insurance. Bonds are our only business at BondExchange, so we do not issue other types of insurance, but our agents often utilize brokers for this specific line of business. A list of brokers in this space can be found here.