Oklahoma Public Adjuster Bond: A Comprehensive Guide
This guide provides information for insurance agents to help their customers obtain an Oklahoma Public Adjuster bond.
At a Glance:
- Average Cost: $100 per year or $10 per month
- Bond Amount: $25,000
- Who Needs it: All public adjusters operating in Oklahoma
- Purpose: To protect insureds from financial harm if the public adjuster violates licensing law
- Who Regulates Public Adjusters in Oklahoma: The Oklahoma Insurance Commission
Oklahoma Statute 36-6207 requires all public adjusters operating in the state to obtain a license from the Insurance Commission. The Oklahoma legislature enacted the licensing requirement to ensure public adjusters do not engage in unethical business practices. To provide financial security for the enforcement of the licensing law, public adjusters must purchase and maintain a $25,000 surety bond to be eligible for licensure.
What is the Purpose of the Oklahoma Public Adjuster Bond?
Oklahoma requires public adjusters to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a license. The bond ensures that insureds will receive compensation for financial harm if the public adjuster fails to abide by the regulations outlined in Oklahoma Statute 36-6214. Specifically, the bond protects insureds if the public adjuster commits fraud or engages in unfair business practices. In short, the bond is a type of insurance that protects insureds if the public adjuster violates the terms of their license.
How Can an Insurance Agent Obtain an Oklahoma Public Adjuster Surety Bond?
BondExchange makes obtaining an Oklahoma Public Adjuster bond easy. Simply log in to your account and use our keyword search to find the “public adjuster” bond in our database. Don’t have a login? Gain access now and let us help you satisfy your customers’ needs. Our friendly underwriting staff is available by phone at (800) 438-1162, email, or chat from 7:30 AM to 7:00 PM EST to assist you.
At BondExchange, our 40 years of experience, leading technology, and access to markets ensures that we have the knowledge and resources to provide your clients with fast and friendly service whether obtaining quotes or issuing bonds.
Not an agent? Then let us pair you with one!
Click the above image to find a BX Agent near you
Is a Credit Check Required for the Oklahoma Public Adjuster Bond?
No, a credit check is not required for the Oklahoma Public Adjuster bond. Because the bond is considered relatively low risk, the same rate is offered to all public adjusters in Oklahoma regardless of their credit history.
How Much Does the Oklahoma Public Adjuster Bond Cost?
The Oklahoma Public Adjuster bond costs either $100 per year or $10 per month.
Who is Required to Purchase the Oklahoma Public Adjuster Bond?
Oklahoma requires public adjusters to purchase a surety bond as a prerequisite to obtaining a professional license. To paraphrase Oklahoma Statute 36-6202, a public adjuster is a person or organization that acts on behalf of or aids insureds in investigating claims and negotiating losses for a fee or compensation.
Exemptions to this definition include:
- Licensed apprentice public adjusters
- Licensed attorneys that do not advertise themselves as public adjusters
- Licensed agents or general agents of authorized insurers who process undisputed losses solely for policies issued by the insurer
- Agents or employees of life and health insurers that adjust claims or losses under the insurer’s policies or contracts to administer policies or benefits of that type
- A nonresident who is occasionally in this state and adjusts losses related to a marine insurance policy
- Persons employed for the sole purpose of clerical duties, data entry, or gathering facts around a potential loss or to provide technical assistance to a licensed public adjuster
- A nonresident insurance adjuster who is actively licensed in another state
BondExchange now offers monthly pay-as-you-go subscriptions for surety bonds. Your customers are able to purchase their bonds on a monthly basis and cancel them anytime. Learn more here.
How Do Public Adjusters Become Licensed in Oklahoma?
Public adjusters in Oklahoma must navigate several steps to obtain a license. Below are the general guidelines for resident adjusters, but applicants should refer to the state’s licensing page and the licensing statutes for details on the process.
License Period – The Oklahoma Public Adjuster License is valid for two years from the date of issuance and must be renewed before the expiration date
Step 1 – Meet the Qualifications
Persons applying for a public adjuster license in Oklahoma must meet all of the following criteria:
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be a resident of Oklahoma or other qualifying state
- Is a trustworthy person
- Must have experience or have completed training in handling loss claims
Step 2 – Complete the Exam
Oklahoma requires public adjusters to pass a state exam before receiving their license. The exam is administered by Prometric and public adjusters can register for it online here. Nonresident public adjusters licensed in a state with an exam requirement are exempt from this requirement. Public adjusters can utilize the state’s Licensing Information Booklet available here to prepare for the exam.
Step 3 – Purchase a Surety Bond
Public adjusters must purchase and maintain a $25,000 surety bond.
Step 4 – Complete the Application
All Oklahoma Public Adjuster applications should be submitted online through the NIPR. Public adjusters must complete the application in its entirety and pay a $30 fee.
How do Oklahoma Public Adjusters Renew Their Licenses?
Prior to their licenses’ expiration dates, the Insurance Commission will send public adjusters instructions on how to renew their licenses. Public adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education each renewal period. The Oklahoma Public Adjuster License is valid for two years from the date of issuance and must be renewed before the expiration date.
What are the Insurance Requirements for Public Adjusters in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma does not require public adjusters to purchase any form of liability insurance as a prerequisite to obtaining a license. Public adjusters must purchase and maintain a $25,000 surety bond.
How do Oklahoma Public Adjusters File Their Bonds?
Public adjusters in Oklahoma should submit their completed bond forms, including the power of attorney, to the state Insurance Department at the following address:
Five Corporate Plaza
3625 NW 56th Street, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112-4511
The surety bond requires signatures from the surety company and the public adjuster. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
- Legal name and address of the individual buying the bond
- Surety company’s name
- Date the bond is signed
What Can Oklahoma Public Adjusters Do to Avoid Claims Made Against Their Bonds?
To avoid claims against their bonds, public adjusters in Oklahoma must follow all license regulations in the state, including some of the most important issues below that tend to cause claims:
- Do not commit fraud
- Do not engage in unfair business practices
What Other Insurance Products Can Agents Offer Public Adjusters in Oklahoma?
Most reputable public adjusters will purchase business liability insurance. Bonds are our only business at BondExchange, so we do not issue any other types of insurance, but our agents often utilize brokers for this specific line of business. A list of brokers in this space can be found here.
How Can Insurance Agents Prospect for Oklahoma Public Adjusters?
Agents can contact the Oklahoma Insurance Department for a list of licensed public adjusters in the state. However, agents may need to pay a fee to do so. Contact BondExchange for additional marketing resources. Agents can also leverage our print-mail relationships for discounted mailing services.