Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Bond: A Comprehensive Guide
At a Glance:
- Average Cost: $100 per year or $10 per month
- Bond Amount: $10,000
- Who Needs it: All precious metal dealers operating in Prince William County, Virginia
- Purpose: To protect the public from financial harm if the precious metal dealer violates the terms of their permit
- Who Regulates Precious Metal Dealers in Prince William County: The Prince William County Police Department
Virginia Code 54.1-4108 requires all precious metal dealers operating in the state to obtain a permit from their city or county’s local law enforcement agency. The Virginia legislature enacted the permitting requirement to ensure that precious metal dealers engage in ethical business practices. To provide financial security for the enforcement of the permitting law, precious metal dealers must purchase and maintain a $10,000 surety bond to be eligible for a permit.
What is the Purpose of the Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Bond?
Prince William County requires precious metal dealers to purchase a surety bond as part of the application process to obtain a permit. The bond protects the public from financial harm if the dealer fails to comply with the regulations set forth in Prince William County Code of Ordinances 20.5-7. Specifically, the bond protects the public if the dealer engages in any acts of fraud or breaches consumer contracts. In short, the bond is a type of insurance that protects the public if the precious metal dealer violates the terms of their permit.
How Can an Insurance Agent Obtain a Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Surety Bond?
BondExchange makes obtaining a Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer bond easy. Simply log in to your account and use our keyword search to find the “Precious Metal Dealer” bond in our database. Don’t have a login? Gain Access now and let us help you satisfy your customers’ needs. Our friendly underwriting staff is available by phone at (800) 438-1162, email, or chat from 7:30 AM to 7:00 PM EST to assist you.
At BondExchange, our 40 years of experience, leading technology, and access to markets ensure that we have the knowledge and resources to provide your clients with fast and friendly service whether obtaining quotes or issuing bonds.
Not an agent? Then let us pair you with one!
Click the above image to find a BX Agent near you
Is a Credit Check Required for the Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Bond?
No, a credit check is not required for the Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer bond. Because the bond is considered relatively low risk, the same low rate is offered to all precious metal dealers operating in the county, regardless of their credit history.
How Much Does the Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Bond Cost?
The Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer bond costs just $100 per year or $10 per month.
Who is Required to Purchase the Bond?
Prince William County requires all precious metal dealers to purchase a surety bond as a prerequisite to obtaining a permit. To paraphrase Prince William County Code of Ordinances 20.5-1, a precious metal dealer is a person who purchases and sells secondhand items containing precious metals such as gold, silver, jewelry, and other items containing precious metals or gems from the general public.
Exemptions to this definition include:
- Purchases of precious metals directly from manufacturers
- Qualified fiduciaries distributing an estate’s assets
- Banks, trust companies, or bank holding companies
- Antique or gem exhibitions sponsored by nonprofit organizations
- Repairing, restoring, or designing jewelry
- Purchases of nonprecious scrap metals
- Purchases or sales of coins
Virginia Code 54.1-4106 allows dealers to obtain an irrevocable letter of credit in lieu of a surety bond. Surety bonds are generally considered the better option for businesses as they free up working capital. For more information on whether your customer should purchase a bond or deposit cash, check out our Surety Bonds vs. Letters of Credit article here.
BondExchange now offers monthly pay-as-you-go subscriptions for surety bonds. Your customers are able to purchase their bonds on a monthly basis and cancel them anytime. Learn more here.
How Do Precious Metal Dealers Apply for a Permit in Prince William County?
Precious metal dealers in Prince William County must navigate several steps to obtain a permit and must obtain a separate permit for each business location they operate. Below are the general guidelines, but applicants should refer to the police department’s website for details on the process.
Permit Term – All Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Permits expire one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed before the expiration date.
Step 1 – Schedule an Appointment for Fingerprinting
Precious metal dealers must first schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted by the Prince Wiliam County Police Department. The appointment will take approximately 30 minutes to complete, and dealers must present proper identification to complete the requirement.
Step 2 – Purchase a Surety Bond
Precious metal dealers must purchase and maintain a $10,000 surety bond.
Step 3 – Submit an Application
Precious metal dealers should complete an application form and deliver it in person to the Prince William County Police Department at the following address:
8406 Kao Circle
Manassas, VA 20110
Dealers must complete the application in its entirety, get it notarized by the police department, and ensure they submit the following items:
- $200 application fee
- Surety bond or letter of credit
- Valid photo identification
- Proof of inspection and approval of all weighing devices, issued within the last year
All applicants are subject to a background check, and those convicted of a felony or crime of moral turpitude within the past seven years will be ineligible for a precious metal dealer permit. Contact the Licensing Section of the Prince William County Police Department for additional assistance in the application process.
How Do Prince William County Precious Metal Dealers Renew Their Permit?
To renew their permit, precious metal dealers should submit an application to the Prince William County Police Department at the following address:
8406 Kao Circle
Manassas, VA 20110
Dealers must pay a $200 renewal fee and ensure they renew their surety bond to avoid termination of their permit. All Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Permits expire one year from the date of issuance and must be renewed before the expiration date.
What are the Insurance Requirements for Precious Metal Dealers in Prince William County?
Prince William County does not require precious metal dealers to purchase any additional insurance. However, dealers must purchase and maintain a $10,000 surety bond.
How Do Prince William County Precious Metal Dealers File Their Bonds?
Precious metal dealers should mail or deliver their completed bond forms, including the power of attorney, to the Prince William County Police Department at the following address:
8406 Kao Circle
Manassas, VA 20110
The bond requires signatures from both the surety company that issues the bond and the applicant. The surety company should include the following information on the bond form:
- Legal name of the entity/individual(s) buying the bond
- Surety company’s name and state of incorporation
- Name of the obligee and the permit type applied for
- Bond amount
- Date the bond goes into effect
- Signing date of the bond
What Can Prince William County Precious Metal Dealers do to Avoid Claims Made Against Their Bonds?
To avoid claims against their bonds, precious metal dealers in Prince William County must ensure that they:
- Do not engage in any acts of fraud
- Faithfully honor all consumer contracts
- Do not purchase or sell any stolen goods
- Maintain all required transaction records
- Obtain identification before each transaction
What Other Insurance Products Can Agents Offer Precious Metal Dealers in Prince William County?
Prince William County does not require precious metal dealers to purchase liability insurance. However, most reputable businesses will purchase this insurance anyway. Bonds are our only business at BondExchange, so we do not issue liability insurance, but our agents often utilize brokers for this specific line of business. Agents can access a list of brokers online here.
How Can Insurance Agents Prospect for Prince William County Precious Metal Dealer Customers?
Prince William County unfortunately does not provide a public database of active precious metal dealers in the county. We suggest contacting the Prince William County Police Department to obtain this information. Contact BondExchange for additional marketing resources. Agents can also leverage our print-mail relationships for discounted mailing services.